Event Details

Time: Monday, September 19, 2022

10:00 - 11:00AM PST Los Angeles / 1:00 – 2:00PM New York / 6:00 – 7:00PM London


Focusing-Oriented Expressive Arts (FOAT®) is a mindfulness-based, somatic approach to the expressive arts that cultivates self-compassion and enhances resilience. The Focusing Attitude is central to FOAT® practice and teaches how to be curious and "friendly" to all of one's inner experiences—whether uplifting or painful and difficult. This inner attitude brings a safe holding space within—that carries with it a life enhancing energy. Over time and with practice, the Focusing Attitude evolves into greater self-compassion.

This presentation includes an experiential exercise on the "Focusing Attitude"— that also teaches the basic step of FOAT®: how to access a felt sense—symbolize it as an image, gesture, sound, word or phrase—and express it through the arts. This FOAT® exercise is a self-care practice for practitioners and can also be applied to working with others.

Sponsors and Partners

Membership Ticket

Member Price
  • Free

FOAT Members

Public Price
  • Free

Learning Outcomes

  • Attendees will be able to describe what Focusing-Oriented Expressive Arts is.
  • Attendees will be able to name one benefit of the "Focusing Attitude".
  • Attendees will be able to describe how to express a felt sense through the arts.